Lahore Qalandars celebrate after winning the Pakistan Super League title in a thriller. Watch

Watch: Lahore Qalandars celebrate after Pakistan Super League title win in thriller

Shaheen Afridi became the first captain to win back-to-back PSL titles.© Twitter

Lahore Qalandars pulled off a stunning last-ball victory over Multan Sultans to claim their second successive Pakistan Super League (PSL) title in Lahore on Saturday. In the process, Shaheen Afridi became the first captain to win back-to-back PSL titles and celebrations broke out the moment Khushdil Shah was run out on the final ball of the match. With 13 runs needed in the final over, the ball was given to Zaman Khan but the cricketer proved to be the star for his team as he conceded just 11 runs.

On the last delivery, Multan Sultans needed 4 runs to win and although the batsmen managed two runs, Tim Wiese’s throw was good enough to dismiss Khushdil.

Qalandars posted a solid score of 200/6 after winning the toss and opted to bat on a batting-friendly pitch. Abdullah Shafiq was the top-scorer for his side with a 40-ball 65, while Shaheen played a brilliant 15-ball 44 towards the end. Mirza Baig (30) and Fakhar Zaman (39) also made good starts in the match but could not convert them into big scores.

In reply, Rilee Rossouw scored another half-century while Multan Sultans skipper Mohammad Rizwan smashed 34 off just 23 balls. The Sultans were able to keep up with the required run rate, but Shaheen was the pick of the bowlers for the Qalandars, taking four wickets.

The talented fast bowler took the wickets of Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Anwar Ali and Usama Mir, while spinner Rashid Khan also helped the team by taking two wickets for 26 runs.

Topics covered in this article


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *