Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans by 1 run to defend PSL title Cricket News

New Delhi: Lahore Qalandars Defeated Multan Sultans by one run in a thrilling final in Lahore to become the first team to win back-to-back Pakistan Super League titles.
captain shaheen shah afridi A run out at the bowler’s end as Multan’s Khushdil Shah tried to score the third run of the Super Over.
Afridi took 4/51 before a packed 25,000 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore and the Qalandars being 200/6 in 20 overs before the Sultans finished on 199/8.

Qalandars had defeated Sultans in last year’s final as well.
Shaheen conceded 34 runs in his first two overs as Sultans took Riley Rossouw (52) and Mohammed Rizwan (34) added 64 runs for the second wicket.
Rossouw hit seven fours and two sixes in 32 balls.
But Shaheen returned in his second spell to dismiss Kieron Pollard (19). Tim David (20), Anwar Ali (one more usma mir (Zero).

With 35 needed off the last two overs, Shah and Abbas Afridi took Haris Rauf’s 22 in the 19th over, but failed to score 13 runs in the last.
Earlier, the Qalandars were lifted by a fiery Shaheen, who scored an unbeaten 44 off 15 balls with the help of five sixes and two fours, helping his team post 85 runs in the last five overs.
Abdullah Shafiq scored 65 runs in 40 balls.

Shafiq and Fakhar Zaman (39) took the Qalandars to 95/1 after his team won the toss and elected to bat mirza beg Scored 30 runs in 18 balls.
But after Zaman’s dismissal, Qalandars lost four wickets to reach 112/5 in 18 balls.
Shaheen promoted himself to number seven and made an immediate impact as he and Shafiq conceded 24 runs to pacer Ihsanullah in the 17th over.
Leg-spinner Usama Mir was the pick of the Sultans’ bowlers with 3/24.

(with inputs from agencies)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *