Australia beat India by 10 wickets, Level 3 ODI series 1-1

A week after winning the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2–1 and winning the first ODI against Australia by 5 wickets, Australia defeated the home team by 10 wickets in Visakhapatnam.

Batting first, India scored 117 runs in 26 overs losing all their wickets. Apart from Virat Kohli (31) and Akshar Patel (29), no batsman could cross the individual score of more than 25 runs.

Opener Shubman Gill, strong batsman Suryakumar Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj returned to the pavilion without scoring any runs. While Indian captain Rohit Sharma scored 13 runs, KL Rahul scored 9, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja scored 16, Kuldeep Yadav scored 4 and Hardik Pandya scored 1 respectively.

Read also: India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2-1 after the final Test ended in a draw.

For Australia, Mitchell Starc took 5 wickets for Australia in his 8 over spell. While Sean Abbott took 3 wickets and Nathan Ellis took 2 wickets.

Chasing down 118 in 50 overs, Australian openers looked like icing on the cake for Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh. Both the batsmen stayed at the crease till the end. The Australian team defeated the target in just 11 overs.

This is India’s biggest defeat in terms of balls remaining.

Abbreviated Score:

India: 117 in 26 overs (Virat Kohli 31, Axar Patel 29 not out, Mitchell Starc 5/53, Sean Abbott 3/23, Nathan Ellis 2/13).

Australia: 121 for no loss in 11 overs (Travis Head 51 not out, Mitchell Marsh 66 not out).

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download Mint News app to get daily market updates and live business news.

more less


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *